BTCC Crazy

Thruxton Replaces Silverstone In Clio Cup

The 2014 Renault UK Clio Cup will race at Thruxton instead of Silverstone after a slight amendment to the calendar.

The popular one make series, that often shines on the TOCA package, is set to move into a new era next season due to the introduction of the fourth generation car.

After many witnessed Josh Files this year not only clinch the UK crown but also the Eurocup title, series organizers have shuffled the calendar to ensure that teams and drivers have the option to mirror what the Team Pyro peddler accomplished.

“We’re very grateful to Alan Gow and to the BARC for enabling this amendment to next year’s Renault UK Clio Cup calendar to be implemented,” said championship manager Simon North. “Opening the way for our teams and drivers to have the option of racing in Europe as well as the UK is an important and, we’re sure, popular step.

“Following the remarkable year enjoyed by Josh Files and Team Pyro, making history by winning the Renault UK Clio Cup title and the Eurocup Clio crown in the same season, we wanted to be able to offer that possibility to our 2014 competitors too. We will miss returning to Silverstone with the Clios next year, but Thruxton is always incredibly popular and we’re delighted to be racing there.”

Below is the amended 2014 calendar;

Revised 2014 Renault UK Clio Cup Calendar:

Rds1&2 Brands Hatch Indy Circuit, Kent – 29th/30th March
Rds3&4 Donington Park National Circuit, Leicestershire – 19th/20th April
Rds5&6 Thruxton, Hampshire – 3rd/4th May
Rds7&8 Oulton Park Island Circuit, Cheshire – 7th/8th June
Rds9&10 Croft Circuit, North Yorkshire – 28th/29th June
Rds11&12 Snetterton Circuit, Norfolk – 2nd/3rd August
Rds13&14 Knockhill Circuit, Fife – 23rd/24th August
Rds15&16 Rockingham, Northamptonshire – 6th/7th September
Rds17&18 Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit, Kent – 11th/12th October

Article originally written on Sunday, 17 November 2013. Read more articles from the BTCC Crazy Archive.