BTCC Crazy

Goodwood Revival grids to boast BTCC race winners and champions

This years Goodwood Revival will see a host of BTCC past winners and champions get behind the wheel in a variety of machines on the 11-13th September.

In what is one of the standout events of the motorsport calendar every year, the iconic circuit will host a total of 15 races across the three-day nostalgia meeting.

One race that will see fans drawn to is the St. Marys Trophy, which caters for racing saloons that competed between 1960-66. Reuniting with TV chef James Martin for a second year in a row, double BTCC title winner Jason Plato will look to triumph in the Saturday Kitchen presenters Mini Cooper S.

Current MG driver and 2013 champion Andrew Jordan will also race, partnering his father Mike in a self-built Ford Lotus Cortina. They won’t be the only drivers from the BTCC fraternity racing a Cortina though as Honda duo Gordon Shedden and Matt Neal will team up together as they look to continue their fine run of form in Historics which recently saw them emerge victorious at the Silverstone Classic.

Neal will also compete in the RAC Celebration for early-1960s GTs in a Lister Sunbeam Tiger.

West Surrey Racing’s Andy Priaulx and Sam Tordoff are also in action with three-time World champion piloting a BMW 1800 TiSA. Tordoff, who currently sits fourth in the points standings, will tackle the high-speed circuit in a Fiat 1500S Abarth.

Aside from the current crop of BTCC racers, there are plenty of familiar faces that competed in the series that are also racing at Goodwood.

Former SEAT works driver and race winner Darren Turner will not only have a BMW at his disposal but also an AC Cobra in the TT. Steve Soper will race a Cortina, Tiff Needell a Jaguar Mk2 and three-time BTCC winner Tom Kristensen will race a Ford Fairlane Thunderbolt and Lister-Jaguar Coupe in the TT.

Article originally written on Saturday, 1 August 2015. Read more articles from the BTCC Crazy Archive.