BTCC Crazy

Colin Turkington takes maiden pole position for Subaru at Oulton Park

Colin Turkington has created BTCC history at Oulton Park this weekend after clinching a first ever Subaru pole position for round 10 of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

In what proved to be another unpredictable shootout for top spot, the Team BMR river hustled his rear-wheel-drive machine to a best time of 1:26.264. Turkington hit the front early in the session and was ultimately never challenged despite several drivers trying to dethrone the Ulsterman.

With lots of work going on behind the scenes to improve the Levorg, the Buntingford-based outfit were rewarded with a sensational performance from the double champion.

Joining Turkington on the front row for the first of tomorrow’s three races is Eurotech Racing revelation Daniel Lloyd. Leaving it late in the session to set his best time on only his second outing, Lloyd moved to within 0.019 of Turkington to claim his best qualifying of the season.

Sam Tordoff was third with Tom Ingram fourth after joining the session late. The Speedworks driver had been in contention for pole position but a brake issue halted his progress of setting an early time and instead saw him drop to the second row at the chequered flag.

Reigning champion Gordon Shedden was fifth whilst Jason Plato gave Team BMR even more to smile about with sixth despite being higher earlier on. Rounding out the top ten was Ashley Sutton, Matt Neal, Aron Smith and Josh Cook.

Notable absentees from the top ten included Andrew Jordan who was P12, Jack Goff P15, Rob Collard P16, Mat Jackson P25 and Thruxton maestro Adam Morgan in P26.

Article originally written on Saturday, 4 June 2016. Read more articles from the BTCC Crazy Archive.