BTCC Crazy

Champions crowned at blockbuster 2016 Brands Hatch GP season finale

In what turned out to be a thrilling climax to the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Brands Hatch GP, all 2016 champions have been crowned.

BTCC Drivers’ Championship – Gordon Shedden

Overturning an 11-point deficit that Sam Tordoff had built up coming into the finale, Shedden became the first man since Fabrizio Giovanardi to win back-to-back titles. Producing a commanding drive in round 30 to win by two points over Tordoff, the Halfords Yuasa Racing driver will enter 2017 as a triple champion.

BTCC Manufacturers’ Championship – WSR/BMW

Despite missing out on the main prize with Tordoff, West Surrey Racing and BMW delivered the title that many were eyeing. Strong consistency from the get-go saw the duo enter the final weekend with the opportunity of being crowned champion and ultimately beat Honda/Team Dynamics.

HiQ Teams’ Championship – Team JCT600 with GardX

Proving to be on the pace from the outset with Tordoff and Rob Collard, the BMW squad delivered the teams’ title in the penultimate meeting of the finals day.

Independent Drivers’ Championship – Andrew Jordan

In his first season with Motorbase Performance, the 2013 champion clinched his third Indie drivers crown. Like the overall crown, the battle for supremacy went down to the final race of the day with a straight shootout between Jordan and Jackson taking place.

Independent Teams’ Championship – Motorbase Performance

Provisionally wrapping up the title at Rockingham, the Kent-based outfit proved to be the class of the Independent teams’ with Jordan and Jackson taking a combined seven overall victories.

Jack Sears Trophy – Ashley Sutton

Finding himself at times as looked nailed on to lift the crown, the Triple Eight Racing driver left it until the final race of the season. In what was a season-long battle with Mike Epps, Sutton wracked up a total of 18 class wins come the end of the season take the title off the hands of current team-ate Josh Cook, who was last years top rookie.

Article originally written on Sunday, 2 October 2016. Read more articles from the BTCC Crazy Archive.