BTCC Crazy

BTCC drivers past and present to star at Goodwood 73MM

The 73rd Goodwood Members Meeting later this month will see several British Touring Car drivers battle it out in historical machinery.

Taking place a week before the 2015 curtain raiser at Brands Hatch, past and present competitors from Britain’s premier race series are set to compete in the Gerry Marshall Trophy, which is open to Group 1 saloons of the 1970-82 period.

One car that is set to draw a lot of attention is the Swiftune Engineering Mini 1275GT, which will be shared by former champions Andrew Jordan and Jason Plato.

Triple champion Matt Neal has put a late deal together to replace former BTCC driver Darren Turner to pilot Bastos-liveried Chevrolet Camaro Z28. Neal will share driving duties with David Clark, and like Plato, is set to make his debut at the Members Meeting.

Rob Austin will also be on the grid in the Gerry Marshall Trophy, partnering his father Richard to drive a period-liveried Faberge Brut 33 Ford Capri.

Other drivers who will do battle around the high speed historical circuit includes Mat Jackson, Anthony Reid, Rob Huff, Robb Gravett, Steve Soper, Tim Harvey and Tiff Needell.

The 73rd Members Meeting takes place on March 21st and 22nd, 2015

Article originally written on Sunday, 1 March 2015. Read more articles from the BTCC Crazy Archive.