Formula Renault UK Finals Series Entry List Released

The Protyre Formula Renault UK Finals Series released its entry list on Wednesday, a list which boasted a full 32 car grid for the six round series.

The Protyre Finals Series, formally known as the Winter Series, takes place over two weekends starting this Saturday at the revamped Snetterton circuit, before moving onto Rockingham on November 12th. The mini-series allows up-and-coming young drivers to secure their Nation A licenses as well as pick up a number of prizes that are on offer.

The impressive line up consists of 24 drivers from mixed 2.0 categories (Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup, CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK runners) and 8 BARC class runners.

There are seven drivers who contested the 2011 CERTINA Formula Renault UK championship in the field. Championship runner-up Oliver Rowland remains with the Fortec team along with Felix Serrales & Ed Jones. They are surprisingly joined by Josh Hill, who has made the switch from the Manor Competiton team. Fortec will be running an incredible nine cars at this years Finals Series. Joining Rowland, Serrales, Jones and Hill are Dan De Zille, Thomas Jager, Shahaan Engineer, Jake Dennis and BARC entry Archie Hamilton.

Dennis won the InterSteps championship in 2011 and is backed by the Racing Steps Foundation while De Zille finished sixth in this years Formula Ford championship, taking five podiums in the process. Austrian racer Jager competed in the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS Championship in 2011, his first season of single seater racing. The aptly named Shahaan Engineer competed in a number of tests with Formula Renault 2.0 and BARC teams, impressing Fotec enough to offer the Mumbai-born racer a drive in the finals series.

Jordan King returns with Manor Competiton and is expected to challenge for top honors after showing plenty of potential on his way to an eighth place finish in the Formula Renault UK championship. He is joined by Nick McBride and Hector Hurst. Hurst competed in the 2011 BARC championship while McBride finished third in the 2011 Formula Ford championship, taking an impressive tall of twelve podiums, three fastest laps and one race win.

Atech Reid GP are fielding a two car line up with Dan Wells and Geoff Uhrhane behind the wheels after both drivers competed with Atech Reid in the 2011 Formula Renault UK championship. Wells joined the team after three rounds in 2011 and his end of the season form helped Atech Reid clinch second in the constructors standings. Uhrhane participated in one round for the Atech Reid GP team, alongside his Formula Ford campaign. Uhrhane finished an impressive fifth overall taking a two wins, nine podiums and six pole positions in the British Formula Ford Championship.

Mark Burdett Motorspot are the only team returning from the CERTINA Formula Renault UK championship to not name a driver who competed in the 2011 season, with Tomasz Krzeminski and Josh Webster in the hot-seats. Webster finished a close second in the Formula Renault BARC 2011 championship, missing out by a mere nine points. 18-year-old Polish driver Krzeminski raced in the French F4 championship taking a number on noticeable results.

Leading Formula Renault Eurocup and Formula Renault NEC team Koiranen have announced a six car line up for the Finals Series, including Daniil Kyvat who finished sixth in the 2010 Winter Series. Kyvat is joined by Esteban Ocon, Hans Vilemi, John Bryant-Meisner, Martin Rump and Stefan Wackerbauer.

Kyvat competed in both NEC and Eurocup championships with Koiranen, finishing second and third respectively. Vilemi and Bryant-Meisner also competed alongside Kyvat in the NEC and Eurocup championships but not with the same success, while 16-year-old Wackerbauer won the Formula BMW Talent Cup championship. Martin Rump is Estonian karting champion while 15-year-old Ocon is also a junior kart champion in his native France and is highly regarded by many.

Two more European teams will make the trip for the Protyre Finals Series. German outfit, who competed in the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS  & NEC championships, have confirmed British driver Melville McKee. The 17-year-old finished fourth in the overall ALPS championship, taking three win along the way .

Van Amersfoort Racing competed in the NEC along with Koiranen and last season and they have confirmed a two car team with Dutchman Dennis Van Der Laar and Brazilian Joao Sergio Carama as their line-up.


2011 Protyre Formula Renault Finals Series Entry List


#2 Daniil Kyvat, #3 Ocon Esteban, #4 Hans Villemi, #5 John Bryant-Meisner, #6 Martin Rump, #8 Stefan Wackerbauer

Atech Reid GP

#8 Geoff Uhrhane, #16 Dan Wells

#9 Melville McKee

Van Amersfoort Racing

#11 Dennis Van Der Laar, #12 Joao Sergio Camara

Fortec Motorsport

#14 Josh Hill, #19 Dan De Zille, #24 Felix Serralles, #26 Archie Hamilton*, #29 Ed Jones, #34 Thomas Jager, #39 Shahaan Engineer, #41 Jake Dennis, #44 Oliver Rowland

Mark Burdett Motorsport

#22 Tomasz Krzeminski, #21 Josh Webster

Manor Competition

#17 Nick McBride, #18 Hector Hurst, #42 Jordan King


 #25 Victor Jiminez, #31 Joe Kibbler, #33 Sean Walkinshaw

Antel *

#27 Ivan Taranov, #28 Chirag Marhotra


#66 James Fletcher MGR, #99 TBA

25, 26, 27, 28, 31, 33, 66 and 99 are BARC class cars.



Mike Trusler

Mike is our designated Formula Renault UK correspondant for the 2011 season. Mike's currently studying Motoring Journalism at UCA in Farnham, Surrey and you can contact him on or on twitter @mike_trusler.